Recent News (Total: 18,658) Items

  • Today, January 18th, 2020

  • Tata Steel Chess: Giri bounces back (ChessBase News)

    Magnus Carlsen and Fabiano Caruana signed a draw on a day that saw Anish Giri and Daniil Dubov getting wins at the Tata Steel Masters in Wijk aan Zee. Thus, Wesley So and Alireza Firouzja are still co-leaders on 'plus two' — Fabiano Caruana, Daniil Dubov and Jorden van Foreest are a half point...

  • Yesterday, January 17th, 2020

  • 2020 Grand Chess Tour in Bucharest, Paris, Zagreb and Saint Louis (ChessBase News)

    Details of the upcoming season of the Grand Chess Tour are out. Ten full tour members and wild cards (TBD). Other than Viswanathan Anand, most of the usual suspects are returning to GCT action — except, that is, the London Chess Classic, no longer a part of the tour which consists of two...

  • 18-year-old wins 2020 Australian Championship (ChessBase News)

    Temur Kuybokarov was born on July 22, 2000 in Tashkent, the capital of Uzbekistan. In 2016, he moved to Perth, Australia, with his parents, and since 2018, the year in which he became a grandmaster, he has played for Australia. This year he became Australian Champion. The 18-year-old won the...

  • Epaulette Mate (ChessBase News)

    In the diagram, after 21.Qh3! Rh8 there are still some power moves to find before the headline becomes a reality, but perhaps you can already outline the first contours. Enjoy!

  • Tata Steel Chess: Firouzja takes down Giri (ChessBase News)

    Alireza Firouzja rejoined the leading pack at the Tata Steel Masters by taking down Anish Giri in their first-ever classical encounter. Fabiano Caruana could have also caught up with Wesley So, but he failed to finish off Jorden van Foreest from a position of strength. The other winner of the day...

  • Thursday, January 16th, 2020

  • Fast and Furious: Open Catalan (4...dxc4) with 5...a6 (ChessBase News)

    All eyes on Tata Steel Chess this week, and IM Robert Ris has a theoretically significant game in the Catalan from the current leader of the Challengers group, Surya Ganguly. Tune into the live show at 18:00 UTC (19:00 CET / 1 PM EST) which is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase...

  • How to find ChessBase products for Mac (ChessBase News)

    The new FritzTrainers for Mac are very popular and the new "Shop Assistant" in the ChessBase Shop helps you find them easily. The bestseller among the Mac-titles does not come as a surprise: a lot of chess players simply like how Fabiano Caruana explains the intricacies of the Spanish! |...

  • Wednesday, January 15th, 2020

  • Ju vs Goryachkina all tied at the half (ChessBase News)

    In Shanghai on Sunday, the sixth game of the women's world championship between Ju Wenjun and Aleksandra Goryachkina ended in a draw. Goryachkina pulled out all the stops until the 105th move, but the fortress of the defending champion held fast. The match is all tied up at 3:3, and the action...

  • Game of the Week: van Foreest vs Carlsen (ChessBase News)

    Tonight's show will be recorded from Wijk aan Zee, very close to where the action happens. IM Merijn van Delft tackles the game from the Masters that was the talk of the town: Jorden van Foreest vs Magnus Carlsen. The live show is free to watch, and available on-demand for ChessBase Premium...

  • Assault on the fianchetto: 3.h4!? against the Gruenfeld & Co (ChessBase News)

    When top players try out a new opening idea, you will often find an article with analyses and recommendations in one of the next issues of ChessBase Magazine. In the current issue #193 GM Romain Edouard for example takes a closer look at Grischuk's 3.h4!? against Vachier-Lagrave's Gruenfeld. You...

  • Tuesday, January 14th, 2020

  • Tata Steel Chess: So takes over, Carlsen sets new record (ChessBase News)

    Wesley So defeated Alireza Firouzja to leapfrog him in the standings table of the Tata Steel Masters and become the new sole leader before the first rest day of the event. Five players are a half point back, including Vladislav Artemiev, who took down Vladislav Kovalev on Tuesday. In the meantime...

  • The Weekly Show: Tata Steel Challengers (ChessBase News)

    Lawrence covers the early rounds of the Tata Steel Challengers in Wijk aan Zee. | Puzzle time: In the diagram, it's Black to move! | Lawrence is on-demand this week beginning at 17:00 UTC (18:00 CET / Noon EST) and free for a limited time, or forever on-demand with a ChessBase Basic Account. You...

  • Endgame Magic with Mihail Marin (ChessBase News)

    First the work then the fun, Karsten welcomes back repeat Endgame Magic guest GM Mihail Marin. Live at 14:00 UTC (15:00 CET; 9:00 AM EST) and on-demand for ChessBase account holders. Don't have an account yet? You can register a free 90-day account to watch!

  • Endgame Magic with Sipke Ernst (ChessBase News)

    Karsten's first GM guest of the year is Dutch GM Sipke Ernst. Live at 9:00 UTC (10:00 CET; 4:00 AM EST) and on-demand for ChessBase account holders. Don't have an account yet? You can register a free 90-day account to watch!

  • Slalom (ChessBase News)

    Stalemate can cause trouble. Black can win in the diagram, but not straightforwardly.

  • Monday, January 13th, 2020

  • Tata Steel Chess: Firouzja takes the lead (ChessBase News)

    The third round of the Tata Steel Masters saw 16-year-old Alireza Firouzja take the sole lead after beating Vladislav Artemiev with the white pieces. Fabiano Caruana and Jorden van Foreest also won, while Magnus Carlsen was in trouble against Jeffery Xiong, but managed to save a half point to tie...

  • Rilton Cup: Moradiabadi finds success under pressure (ChessBase News)

    The "Rilton Cup" in Stockholm experienced its 49th edition over the turn of the new year. Grandmaster Elshan Moradiabadi led a group of five players after seven of nine rounds, and held on to finish with a winning score of 7.0/9, narrowly edging out Arseniy Nesterov on tiebreak. Moradiabadi sent...

  • Simon Says: Hastings Highlights (ChessBase News)

    GM Simon Williams took a trip to the traditional Hastings Congress over the New Year and shares the experience. | Watch live for free (or on-demand for a limited time) starting at the usual hour: 17:00 UTC (18:00 CET / 12 Noon EST).

  • Sunday, January 12th, 2020

  • Tata Steel Chess: Five leaders (ChessBase News)

    Four decisive results, all favouring White, left five players sharing first place on 1½/2 at the 2020 Tata Steel Masters. Wesley So obtained a quick win over Vishy Anand, Vladislav Artemiev defeated his compatriot Nikita Vitiugov, Daniil Dubov inflicted Vladislav Kovalev's second loss and Jeffery...

  • Christmas puzzle solutions (ChessBase News)

    Last year we rivived our twenty-year tradition of giving you unusual puzzles for the Christmas holidays — puzzles that cannot be easily solved with a computer (the point of this endeavour), tasks which require you to think all by yourself. Sadly the greatest problematist, Pál Benkö, who...

  • Saturday, January 11th, 2020

  • Basic Chess Strategy (Chess Musings)

    Question: What are some common chess strategies? Answer: Below is a list of chess strategies known as Reuben Fine’s “Thirty Rules of Chess”. Chess is a complicated game and there will always be exceptions to any rule. However, it is a good exercise to understand why each item below is generally...

  • Tata Steel Chess: Firouzja and Van Foreest start with wins (ChessBase News)

    It is hard to call a win by Alireza Firouzja a surprise after his stellar performance at the World Rapid and Blitz Championships — and his general good form from last year — but it is still noteworthy that he won his first ever game in Wijk aan Zee. He is joined in the lead of the Masters by...

  • What makes a chess problem attractive? (ChessBase News)

    Chess problems have been around for over a thousand years. In the 21st century, however, composing original chess problems is no longer something that only humans can do autonomously. In this article, AZLAN IQBAL shares what the general global chess community, not just master players and...

  • Prolific chess author slain (ChessBase News)

    Chess author and publisher Bob Long has reportedly been murdered in his home in Davenport, Iowa, USA, according to local news media. ChessBase author IM Andrew Martin was a long-time friend and sent this reflection. | Photo: bobthechesser.wordpress.com

  • Tata Steel Chess 2020 LIVE (ChessBase News)

    The 82nd edition of the chess festival in Wijk aan Zee takes place from January 11-26. Rounds start at 12:30 UTC (13:30 CET / 7:30 AM EST), except January 16th in Eindhoven when it starts 30 minutes later. Live games and commentary by GM Robert Hess and WIM Fiona Steil-Antoni. | Photo:

  • First
  • Prev
  • 1 (current)
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Next
  • Last
  • showing 1 to 25 of 18,658